The invisible ties…..

Well, for the past many days, my heart has been urging me to write you a letter telling you how you are my best friend and saturate it with all the generic reasons. But surprisingly, I am not going to do that because I guess, you already know why you are my best friend. Ah, if you didn’t, then we wouldn’t have remained friends over all these years, 3 years to be precise.

There came a moment in my life when I finally realized the fact that I’ve finally found my soul mate. Well, I’m not talking of the person I’ll spend the rest of my life with. I am talking of the person with whom I’ve spent the time of my life. To be honest, I’ve spent an entire lifetime in the three years I’ve spent in college and I know you’ll find it hard to believe and you might also think that I’m bragging and flattering  about you just because I want to get my apologies accepted but, to be very honest, I really consider you to be my finest friend.

Well, I need to thank you for the endless number of things you’ve done for me. To begin with, thank you for being there with me at a time when I needed someone to fall back on. Thank you for taking care of me in every possible way and being there for me even when you didn’t have to be. Well, I’ve had a lot of friends with whom I’ve eaten out and roamed around unnecessarily. But you’ve been that kind of a friend with whom I’ve shared everything right from the smallest of joys to the biggest and the direst of problems. Thank you for having faith in me when I was too exhausted to believe in myself. Thank you for calling me a gem. Well, I know that you lie every time you say that. But surprisingly, that lie of yours instils a sense of optimism into me. I promise you that try becoming one. Thank you for holding my hand and guiding me through the uneven rocky terrains of my bittersweet life.

Thank you for appreciating my idiotic shayaris and poems. I know they’ve been no less than a headache. You’ve never judged me on the basis of the stupid things I’ve done. Thank you for being ready with solutions when I approached with truck loads of petty problems of mine.

Thank you for having that cup of coffee with me. Well, I got to tell you that it did not have sugar added in it but it tasted sweeter than sugar. For all those selfies that you clicked. Thank you so much for the posters which you designed for me.

Well, you did all the things which a best friend does. You hugged me when I cried. Thank you for knowing me who I am and reminding me every time I forgot that.  You never made me wear masks of selfishness. I could be myself. It is as simple as that. You are the one of the 2 persons within whom I want to confide. The other person happens to be my mother.

I have argued a lot with you. I’ve bothered you a lot with my idiotic and aimless problems, I have inflicted a lot of pain on you, I have told a million lies. But somewhere in those lies, hides a truth which says I have respected you and that I will always respect you for being my constant companion.

Thank you for the laughs, for the cries and for everything in between. Thank you for being my cornerstone and my anchor, the rudder of my ship. Thank you for holding me and keeping me grounded whenever I felt like being blown away.

I have no excuse regarding the endless troubles I’ve created over the past 3 years or so and asking for forgiveness would hardly seem adequate. Ah, I know I’m a bit foolish and I end up creating a lot of trouble at times.  I won’t even ask for forgiveness because I know that I’ve already been forgiven by you for my foolishness  At the end of it, I would only like you to know that I would never ever be able to repay whatever I owe to you because I can never.

Apart from that, I would also like to tell you that wherever I am, whatever happens, I’ll always think of you, and the moments we spent together, as the happiest time of my life. I would certainly like to do all of that yet again if given a choice. No regrets whatsoever.

 

Well, I know it is getting a bit long and that you are getting a bit bored so I must conclude here:

I guess the strongest tales of friendship generally end on a tragic note. Well, tragedy is exactly what makes these tales even more iconic and memorable than they actually are…….

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

