For the love of coffee…:)

A cup of coffee happens to be one of my favorite things. Ah, I don’t have coffee everyday, but whenever I get a chance to have it, I don’t miss the opportunity of having it. I’m a coffee drinker (to quite an extent). I really love the aroma of it and it is the coffee’s aroma that ends up pulling me towards it.

I’m one of those people who can’t function without coffee. It’s a kind of a drug and I need it in order to keep my body and soul together. Coffee, to me, is a medicine I can’t live without. My ‘medicine’ contains caffeine. But unfortunately, the utter ridiculousness of the so called modern coffee culture and it’s ever so demanding and expensive  (to some extent) preparation made me minimize its consumption.

Now, whenever I go to a local store nearby to shop of groceries, I have this habit of picking up any xyz brand of coffee. I don’t run after brands. I just need coffee. After all, ‘a coffee is a coffee, is a coffee’. Coffee, in my opinion, has lost its charm. Coffee powder we buy today lacks that ‘real’ flavour, that powerful surge, it lacks that aroma of roasted coffee beans.

One fine day, when I started deconstructing the entire  process of making a hearty cup of coffee, I ended up deconstructing and describing it in the most horrible way possible. Acidic water containing milk and caffeine. (That was quite  a horrible description, wasn’t it?)

A talk about coffee reminds me that people consider Starbucks and CCD’s quite expensive. Well, to be quite honest, they are quite expensive, but it’s perfectly fine to barge-in at a Starbucks coffee shop once in a while when you’re with your friends (girlfriend, I meant;)) Starbucks is a good place to hang if you want to pretend that you’ve got deep pockets.

I consider coffee shops to be a fun place to hang-out. Well, you may disagree with me, but I would like to believe that   coffee shops like the Starbucks and the CCD’s of the world are an incredibly  good place to go when you’re alone.

Coming back to the preparation part, preparing a hearty cup of coffee requires time. Time happens to be such a precious commodity during weekdays. Time runs out quite quickly in the morning while I’m getting ready or rather trying to get ready in order to get to work.

I’ve devised a simple system of preparing coffee during weekdays. I take a little milk,  pour water into it and add sugar and coffee powder to it.  All of these ingredients are mixed together without measuring. The mixture that is formed is called coffee. The brew that I prepare during the early hours of the morning happens to be inconsistent due to severe time constraints, but I’d like to believe that my largely inconsistent brew tastes quite okay.

I’m an amateur writer. To me, my mind seems overflowing with ideas.I don’t really know from where my ideas come, but I’d like to admit that one key ingredient that gives rise to ideas is caffeine. Whenever I have coffee, weird and god-forsaken ideas start emerging out of the ruins of my brain and that is why I manage to write blog posts.

A cup of coffee, to me, is a lot more than just a drink. It symbolizes that something is happening. Having a cup of coffee is like an event, it’s a place to be, but not like a location, it’s somewhere within yourself. It gives you time, but not actual hours or minutes, but a chance to steal time and be yourself.

So, to put everything in the simplest of words, I’d say that the relationship between a perfect cup of coffee and a stupid writer like me is just like a couple who just standby and feel proud of being committed to each other.

Leave a Reply

